This is the What's New page for
For other posts: personal, Saunters, environment, music, etc, go to Cuke nonZense Blog and cuke-annex
Our other two Zen sites: - all the transcripts, audio, film, photo archive and - for Zen Mind, Beginner's Mind. New Book: Zen Is Right Now at local indie bookstore | on Amazon
Youtube Cuke Archives - Posts from here also appear on Facebook Cuke Archives
Core Books by and about Shunryu Suzuki -- People Index -- DC home -- DC Books
Cuke Podcasts - Instagram Cuke Archives - - Donate
Search cuke blog 

Tuesday, May 28, 2019

More Lotus Sutra reading and comment

The bodhisattva has six prajna paramitas. Dana prajna paramita, and precepts...prajna paramita. Alms giving and precepts observation, and vigourous practice, and patience, and zazen practice, and wisdom, prajna paramita.

"Some sons of the Gina, whose strength consists in forbearance, patiently endure abuse, censure, and threats from proud monks": Proud monks will give various critical words, and sometimes blame their conduct. But the bodhisattvas should not be disturbed by those words or treatment. They try to attain enlightenment by dint of forbearance. "

This is the third prajna paramita, prajna paramita of endurance. -------------------------------- Excerpt from Shunryu Suzuki lecture - 68-02-00-A as found on Edited by DC