This is the What's New page for
For other posts: personal, Saunters, environment, music, etc, go to Cuke nonZense Blog and cuke-annex
Our other two Zen sites: - all the transcripts, audio, film, photo archive and - for Zen Mind, Beginner's Mind. New Book: Zen Is Right Now at local indie bookstore | on Amazon
Youtube Cuke Archives - Posts from here also appear on Facebook Cuke Archives
Core Books by and about Shunryu Suzuki -- People Index -- DC home -- DC Books
Cuke Podcasts - Instagram Cuke Archives - - Donate
Search cuke blog 

Friday, June 21, 2019

Concluding this lecture on the Lotus Sutra

"...and to the Bodhisattvas he preached the law connected with the six Perfections, and terminating in the knowledge of the omniscient, after the attainment of supreme, perfect enlightenment." So far the teaching was for sravakas and pratyekas, and now the teaching is for the bodhisattvas. For the bodhisattva, Buddha gave the teaching of the six paramitas. I think I explained them already. Dana Paramita, bestowing of material and teaching; Sila Paramita, keeping the precepts; Ksanti Paramita, the practice of patience; Virya Paramita, zeal and progress; Dhyana Paramita, the practice of meditation; and Prajna Paramita, wisdom paramita, the power to discern truth or reality. 

Thank you very much.  -------------------------------- Excerpt from Shunryu Suzuki lecture - 68-02-00-C as found on Edited by DC