This is the Cuke Archives page for what’s being featured each day.
Our other two Zen sites: - all the transcripts, audio, film, photo archive
and - for Zen Mind, Beginner's Mind.
New 2021: Audiobook for Crooked Cucumber & Zen Is Right Now: More Teaching Stories and Anecdotes of Shunryu Suzuki
Youtube Cuke Archives - Posts from here also appear on Facebook Cuke Archives
Core Books by and about Shunryu Suzuki -- People Index -- DC home -- DC Books
Cuke Podcasts - Instagram Cuke Archives - - Donate
For personal, environment, music, etc, go to Cuke nonZense Blog and cuke-annex
Search cuke blog 

Wednesday, May 11, 2022

Order of Four

What I told you this afternoon is based on the order of our belief: shi, ge, gyo, sho—four stages. Shi is belief, ge is intellectual understanding, and gyo is practice. Here it means something more —emotional practice, emotional activity followed by intellectual activity, we call gyo. And sho is the enlightenment or proof, to be proved by various teachers. This is a very important thing. Four ways. So, these four stages—our practice includes those four—in each order, our practice should follow. Our practice is not just one of the four order of entering our way.             --------------------------- Excerpt from Shunryu Suzuki  lecture 67-08-20 - as found on shunryusuzuki.comfrom one of the newly discovered (2021) lecture tapes. Edited by DC  - Going through Suzuki lectures and posting anything that can stand on its own. Not looking for zingers or "the best of." I find that following these excerpts daily provides another way to experience Suzuki's teaching. Go to for more daily Shunryu Suzuki lecture excerpts - with a photo